What Are the Ten Commandments?

The Ten Commandments are commandments that were given to the prophet Moses. The Children of Israel (the followers of God) would not accept the higher law of God, so Moses was given the lesser law (referred to as the Law of Moses). The Ten Commandments are the foundation, if you will, of this lesser law.

Though part of the lesser law, they are still very important and any Christian today should follow these commandments. And while extremely old, they are so foundationally important that they should not be ignored. Sadly, it’s easy to see how many of the most basic of these commandments are broken every day by society.

The Ten Commandments are found in both Exodus 20:2-17 and Deuteronomy 5:6-21 of the Holy Bible.

The Ten Commandments

what are the ten commandments?

  1. You shall have no other gods before me
  2. You shall not make for yourself an idol
  3. Do not take the name of the Lord in vain
  4. Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy
  5. Honor your father and mother
  6. You shall not kill
  7. You shall not commit adultery
  8. You shall not steal
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor
  10. You shall not covet

Related Content